TuneBoy 959 Patient ZERO -ECU mods - Ducati 959 Panigale Forum
 16Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-27-2016, 06:15 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Bradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 30
Arrow TuneBoy 959 Patient ZERO -ECU mods

https://www.facebook.com/TuneboyAU/p...56373551165047

Pick up the 959 today. Mine is patient Zero, the first. Cruise control, launch control, disable PAIR valve, open and disable exhaust servo, full dyno tune circa 13:1 AFR, 3 TPS maps (standard, 70% twist = 100% throttle, TPS = A torque value rather than a throttle value). New QS system with auto blip for up and down shifting...... as you can imagine I'm pretty excited odds are, if this becomes an 'off the shelf' product, it'll be my map you get

If interested I can report back or explain what I've had done.
DarR, Kevin.H and causecelebre like this.
Bradley is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-27-2016, 10:33 PM
Senior Member
 
DJ Shrug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 392
Garage
Nice! Did you happen to have a baseline run to compare to?

2016 AWS 959 Panigale - Sato Racing Sliders | T-Rex Axle Sliders | Dieci83 Radiator Guards | Techspec Tankpads | NRC FEK | NRC Mirror Block Offs | CRG Arrow Mirror | TWM Brake Lever Guard | Ducabike Gen 1 Rearsets
DJ Shrug is online now  
post #3 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-27-2016, 11:07 PM
Senior Member
 
Dingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Laguna Niguel, CA
Posts: 1,148
Garage
Is it easy to change TPS to 1:1?

2016 White Ducati 959 Panigale
Dingo is online now  
 
post #4 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-28-2016, 05:23 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Bradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 30
Dyno attached. Pretty happy with 11hp over stock with a stock setup.
I must say, the bike sounds so much better with the exhaust servo open. It feels better to ride, not WOW amazing but there's definitely a little more there. The best improvement is the low throttle response and on-off transitions, it's quite a lot smoother although not perfect.
Cruise control is excellent... can't really fault it.
The quick shifter I'm confused about... Full throttle up shifts are fine, no better then stock though. 4 times out of 5 It somehow how deals with slow / low throttle upshifts butter smooth too whereas the OEM one would jerk and was a bit rough, the problem is 1 time out of 5 if jerks making me lose confidence using it for anything other than full throttle shifting, as such there is no gain over the OEM system.
The auto-blip down shifting I just can't figure out... I think you have to have a near neutral throttle, not decelerating too much. It seems to jerk and even surge me forward. I don't think it works the way other systems do, and tries to vary the blip based on shift pressure, engine rpm, and throttle position but seems to get it wrong half the time.... and again meaning I don't really want to use it. That said, I've only tired it punting around town between 1/2/3 gears and not higher speed canyons, track work where it might come into it's own.

Summary... value for money it's worth it for
- 10hp more
- Smoother but not perfect low throttle response and transitions
- Exhaust note more throaty and louder (not significantly however)
- Cruise Control
- Did I mention CRUISE CONTROL

However...save your money on
- QS ...just not worth the extra $500 IMHO
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	dyno - 1.jpg
Views:	277
Size:	382.8 KB
ID:	11058  
DarR, Kevin.H, Aldo and 1 others like this.
Bradley is offline  
post #5 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-28-2016, 05:35 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Bradley's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 30
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dingo View Post
Is it easy to change TPS to 1:1?
I thought the stock TPS mapping was 1:1 but then again, I guess the OEM rider modes do muck around with TPS mapping.

I now have 3 modes,

1. Stock (TPS = throttle position)

2. TPS = a torque value. What this means in practise is any given throttle position calls on the ECU to produce X value of torque, now typically as RPM increases the torque value falls off. What now happens is the ECU will automatically add throttle to maintain the torque level.

3. TPS = a torque value but the 70% of the throttle calls on max power. (like a quick action throttle).

It's funny how clever throttle mapping can give the illusion of more power or torque. I'm not a fan of options 2 and 3 because I don't like the idea that the throttle has a mind of it's own.
Spanishcop likes this.
Bradley is offline  
post #6 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-28-2016, 01:06 PM
Senior Member
 
DJ Shrug's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 392
Garage
Good to hear it smoothens the on-off transitions. Overall, what's the cost looking like?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradley View Post
The auto-blip down shifting I just can't figure out... I think you have to have a near neutral throttle, not decelerating too much. It seems to jerk and even surge me forward. I don't think it works the way other systems do, and tries to vary the blip based on shift pressure, engine rpm, and throttle position but seems to get it wrong half the time.... and again meaning I don't really want to use it. That said, I've only tired it punting around town between 1/2/3 gears and not higher speed canyons, track work where it might come into it's own.
If its only working near neutral acceleration, it sounds like its not working at all. Without an autoblipper/quickshifter, you can jam upshift/downshift any straight-cut gear transmission when its effectively unloaded. So if I'm understanding correctly, while under 0% throttle and decelerating, the auto-blipper isn't working? Your new QS rod should be taking the upshift movement as action to blip the throttle; it sounds like either the rod isn't responding, or the TuneBoy isn't setup for auto blip.

I'd be interested to hear about if it works at higher RPMs though, please chime in when you get more testing in!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Bradley View Post
I thought the stock TPS mapping was 1:1 but then again, I guess the OEM rider modes do muck around with TPS mapping.

I now have 3 modes,

1. Stock (TPS = throttle position)

2. TPS = a torque value. What this means in practise is any given throttle position calls on the ECU to produce X value of torque, now typically as RPM increases the torque value falls off. What now happens is the ECU will automatically add throttle to maintain the torque level.

3. TPS = a torque value but the 70% of the throttle calls on max power. (like a quick action throttle).

It's funny how clever throttle mapping can give the illusion of more power or torque. I'm not a fan of options 2 and 3 because I don't like the idea that the throttle has a mind of it's own.

I believe your #3 is pretty close to how the stock ECU's engine HIGH TPS mapping is. #2 sounds really interesting, have you rode on this mode yet? How does it feel if you have?

2016 AWS 959 Panigale - Sato Racing Sliders | T-Rex Axle Sliders | Dieci83 Radiator Guards | Techspec Tankpads | NRC FEK | NRC Mirror Block Offs | CRG Arrow Mirror | TWM Brake Lever Guard | Ducabike Gen 1 Rearsets
DJ Shrug is online now  
post #7 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-28-2016, 04:33 PM
Member
 
foxriderry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Posts: 36
'Im interested to see how this works out. I was looking into the tuneboy set up a few months ago and they hadn't had anything for me. Since then I've spoken to ECS about having them dyno my bike etc, and I'm hoping to get at least the cruise control as well. One thing that came to mind was the fact that I saw someone on this page mention that the QS needed to be broken in. If i remember correctly my up shift took a little time to work in however, now it shifts fine all the time. Maybe the shifter just needs to figure itself out? Ill be sure to check back in here for updates
foxriderry is offline  
post #8 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-29-2016, 10:50 PM
Super Moderator
 
Kevin.H's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Location: Rochester, NY
Posts: 552
I've been trying to buy this since day 1. Let us know when it's available!

R
Kevin.H is offline  
post #9 of 76 (permalink) Old 10-31-2016, 12:21 PM
Junior Member
 
MotoMillion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Posts: 407
Pretty interesting that the low end torque isn't lost by keeping the exhaust servo valve open.

*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*

*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*

*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*

*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*

*
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
*

959 Panigale Discount code 959PANIGALE
MotoMillion is online now  
post #10 of 76 (permalink) Old 11-01-2016, 05:33 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Oklahoma City, OK
Posts: 17
I just want cruise control
O_O, foxriderry and Rinzlr like this.
Choppa' is offline  
Reply

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The two best mods I've done were both <$35 Kevin.H 959 Panigale Drivetrain 13 04-18-2017 04:47 PM
Panigale 959 TuneBoy Chris Bradley 959 Panigale Aftermarket Parts And Accessories 5 08-10-2016 12:40 AM
959 Panigale Track Mods SpeedyGonzales 959 Panigale Track Talk 22 07-07-2016 03:07 PM

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome
 


Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.1 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.