Ducati 959 Panigale Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
29 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys,
So I've washed my bike a few times and have noticed that the stock grease (white paste stuff that was on the chain) has flung off under the tail and also onto the rear wheel.
I've found that no matter how much I clean it there is still some residue on the wheels. Any advise on what to use to clean it properly without damaging the wheels?? Any help is greatly appreciated!

·
Registered
65 Posts
I clean my wheels with Meguiar's Quik Wax spray. Cleans up the wheels quickly and makes them shiny and easy to wipe down later. Just make sure you don't get any on the tires.

·
Registered
1,908 Posts
I'll say it again... the Only item you need to clean your bike is Honda Spray Cleaner and Polish
With regard to keeping her clean, I use Honda Spray Cleaner & Polish, which I've been using for over 20 years :grin2: - on everything. It's that good there's no need to even try anything else. My first bike never saw water, meaning I never Washed it - I Cleaned it (with Honda cleaner) after every ride. I'll continue that tradition with the new 959 and so far all the bugs and grease from the new chain don't even leave a mark. I Highly recommend everyone to get this cleaner!
:wink2:

·
Registered
50 Posts
So I saw a bunch of people recommend WD40 on the 899 forum. I figured what the hey. And tried it. I am totally in that camp now. It cleans the wheels perfectly and easily. Especially the rear wheel. (this is on the arctic white with red wheels mind you)

·
Registered
892 Posts
@Ike is right with the WD40, just make sure to clean it up after as WD40 tends to attract dust if left on the surface.

Based on your other threads, you have a red 959; I believe us white owners have it worse with our powder coated rims, but WD40 hasn't taken any paint off my rims yet and its worked perfectly (almost zero elbow grease). I follow it up with Optimum No Rinse Wash and Wax.

·
Registered