Ducati 959 Panigale Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey Everyone. I have been riding for 6 years now and am looking to get my hands on a middleweight. Will probably be used for 25% commuting, 50% twisties and 25% track. I am curently torn between Daytona 675R and 959. I tested out both of them and it was a bit of a wash. 959 obviously has the power, looks and electronics but the Daytona just felt so well sorted out and confident. Any thoughts? Has anyone had any experience with these two bikes they can share?

Thanks!

·
Registered
143 Posts
I've spent some time on the 675. I thought it was meh for me. Nothing wrong with it, it just didn't inspire me. I will say that if you're not used to riding twins, you'll feel the smoothness of the 3 pot a bit more familiar. In terms of power, that's easy, the 959 would probably crush the 675 in race mode on a track but most of us don't live on tracks. I don't think the clunky nature of twins make them great around town traffic bikes. That has improved with this super Q engine but it still likes to be over 4000 rpm.

Ride them both again if you can and which ever one suits your size and riding style go with. Both are great bikes. The Ducati will be more raw, it'll be faster and you'll get a TON of attention on it from just about everyone. The 675 will be smoother, cooler (temp in traffic) and more well behaved at anything under "going to jail" speeds. I don't use my bike for anything other than play so the roughness of it is something I adore. It's also not my first Ducati so I'm well adjusted to the behavior of twins, they're not for everyone I can promise you. Both are excellent options, the choice is between something that is more focused, raw and has character in abundance vs the 675's more livable character for mixed riding.

Finally I'll say that in the looks department, the Ducati is clearly the winner.