Ducati 959 Panigale Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey fellas!
I've had my 959 for a few months now. I've put 4500 miles on the bike so far and what a dream it has been. I'm new to actually using forums (I usually just leach info when something breaks). You guys have been great so I figured I would try and participate a bit. Thanks for having me!

Picture of my stock 959 showed :D
(I have a bigger rear sprocket coming and looking for a slip on)

Attachments

·
Registered
892 Posts
Welcome @Potato.959.

Looks like you're loving it and riding it as much as you can!

·
Registered
20 Posts
Welcome to the forum! Glad you are enjoying the bike so much. I am in a similar situation as yourself, relatively new owner and can't fault the 959 its a fantastic bike.

·
Registered
40 Posts
Yeah I've only put about 4500 miles on the bike so far. Can't wait to put more on.
I've had my 2018 for 2 weeks now. Only 200 miles on the odo so far. Did you get yours new and did you go by the book on break in? It's like dry humping a super model trying to keep it in the pants below 6k rpm.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
Sorry for the delay. It's hard to remember to keep checking here. Yes I went by the book by 800 miles, sorta.
A buddy of mine has owned 5-10 (can't remember but it's a bunch) of ducatis over the years...
Day 1 he got picked up a brand new 959 he took it to the track. Do what you think is right. The "break in" debate has been thoroughly fleshed out. These engines are rung out and tested before the bike leaves the factory. Imo they say that so new owners don't get on a bike they're uncomfortable with and wreck it. I wouldn't (and didn't) redline it until break-in but I did romp on my bike quite a bit.

·
Registered
892 Posts